Two more board members resign from community council

Jake Jacobovitch, president of the Vashon-Maury Island Community Council and a veteran of Island civic life, resigned from the council board Monday night.

Then, Tuesday morning, Frederick Woodruff sent out an e-mail announcing his resignation.

The two resignations mark the third and fourth such moves in the last month. Mary Shackelford resigned Dec. 8, and Hilary Emmer announced her resignation — to take place after her replacement is found — two weeks ago.

Jacobovitch, who served as president of the community council’s board 10 years ago, said in an e-mail that his management style worked well a decade ago; he decided to step down, he added, after “it became apparent to me that (my management style) was not a good fit with the current board.”

Jacobovitch said he ran for the board “with the intentions of utilizing my prior experience of leading the board to help get the VMICC back on track. .... I have decided to resign so the board can move forward in a new direction.”

Woodruff, in a brief e-mail, said, “I wish everyone the best of luck in their efforts to serve our community. I will continue to do so, but in more creative and cooperative ways.”

Emmer, the longest-serving board member, said she believes the resignations are “indicative of the dysfunctionality of the board and how the board nitpicks and doesn’t get along.”

We encourage an open exchange of ideas on this story's topic, but we ask you to follow our guidelines for respecting community standards. Personal attacks, inappropriate language, and off-topic comments may be removed, and comment privileges revoked, per our Terms of Use. Please see our FAQ if you have questions or concerns about using Facebook to comment.
blog comments powered by Disqus

Read the Oct 26
Green Edition

Browse the print edition page by page, including stories and ads.

Browse the archives.

Friends to Follow

View All Updates