Doug Ostrom and Scott Harvey elected to park board, Jenny Bell wins water district race

Doug Ostrom and Scott Harvey appear to have been elected to the Vashon Park District board of commissioners, while incumbent Lu-Ann Branch is also holding a lead, as of Thursday evening.

Doug Ostrom, running for position 4 on the park board, has garnered 59.9 percent of the votes, or 1,959 votes, and Robin Magonegil has 40 percent, or 1,307 votes.

Scott Harvey, running for position 5, has garnered 61.4 percent, or 1,909 votes, while incumbent John Hopkins has 38.2 percent with 1,188 votes.

Lu-Ann Branch is leading in the race for position 2 on the park board, with 52.2 percent of the votes, or 1,673 votes. Challenger Stephen Evans has garnered 47.7 percent, or 1,530 votes.

Jenny Bell has apparently been elected to the board of Water District 19, taking 54.1 percent of the vote, or 462 votes. Mark Graham has 45.4 percent with 388 votes. There are 2,251 registered voters in Water District 19.

Jay Hanson has been elected to the cemetery district board with 57.6 percent of the vote. Challenger John Kimble has 42.2 percent.

As of Wednesday evening, about 3,900 Vashon ballots had been counted by King County Elections. There are about 8,000 registered voters on Vashon, and at least 4,900 islanders returned ballots. Updated results will be released by the county on Friday afternoon.


We encourage an open exchange of ideas on this story's topic, but we ask you to follow our guidelines for respecting community standards. Personal attacks, inappropriate language, and off-topic comments may be removed, and comment privileges revoked, per our Terms of Use. Please see our FAQ if you have questions or concerns about using Facebook to comment.

Read the Oct 19
Green Edition

Browse the print edition page by page, including stories and ads.

Browse the archives.

Friends to Follow

View All Updates